Aside

I start the day with such great hopes of getting tons accomplished. And then it doesn’t happen. Is it just me? I have to be the worst “starter” of all time! I just can’t understand why it is so hard for me to get going.

Here are my excuses. (You knew I had some, didn’t you?)

I’m not a morning person. I don’t get up early. If I see the sunrise, it’s probably because I have to get to the airport at an ungodly hour, I’m sick, or I have a super early appointment. Thanks to working for home, I set my own hours, which means, I don’t go to be early and I don’t rise early. Afternoon is when I hit the computer.

Next.

I have a few simple things to do that are never as simple as they should be. Today, I needed to edit one internet banner and create another. The program I use to do this, which worked fine the last time I used it, no longer works. At all. I looked around on the web trying to see if there’s an update I’m missing. There’s not. And the thing it says I’m missing, yeah, I downloaded it, but it just made a folder on my computer, which isn’t apparently talking to the program that’s missing it.

So, then I start looking at websites where you can make free internet banners. Yep. None of them did what I wanted. So, then I thought, screw it. I’ll buy a program and download it. Took too long to get the trial version downloaded. (I live in the middle of nowhere and the internet options stink and what I have is so slow.)

Next, I decided to search the App Store to see if there’s a free banner maker. Score! There’s a free one. I just got it downloaded and it’s time for hubby and son to be home for supper.

And so now, I’m hurriedly writing this blog post I should have had up hours ago. Where did the day go? And I haven’t done any writing. Argh!

Do you feel my pain? I had such hopes to get so much accomplished today. Maybe I can get some actual writing done after supper. My goal this week is to begin work on two, hello, that’s right, I said TWO new books. I have never written two books at once. Never. But I’m going to give it a try. I know National Write a Novel in Month is coming up in November, but that’s for beginners. I’m a seasoned professional. I’m going to write two books! Ha!

If I could just get those pesky interent banners out of the way…

–Debbie

My Crazy Day

2 responses »

  1. I feel the same way almost every day, Debbie, except I am a morning person. That’s the only time of day i have no interruptions. So I have my coffee, answer emails and begin my writing. Did I mention I’m a slow writer? By then, hubster is up and wanting breakfast…and the interruptions begin. Not his fault, really, but mine for having cooked his breakfast for 58 years. Back in the days when I was a stay-at-home mom raising children, I was a Suzy homemaker never far from the kitchen. I dreamed of writing, but there were distractions like laundry, meals, babies and ooooh, look at the squirrel! Yep, I was my own worst enemy then and still am now. I get distracted easily. I blame it on my age now, but I know it’s really procrastination. When I hit a roadblock in my current work or need to do the dreaded self-promo stuff, I tend to make excuses. I should cook, do research, write a blog, finish the darn book…..are you sure we aren’t related?

Leave a Reply

